Archive for August 13th, 2010

h1

Sometimes you can’t go home again.

August 13, 2010

Cleveland is and will always be my home. I spent the first 18 years of my life in Cleveland. As the rapper Eve used to say “it is where I am from”. When we think of going home, we are referring to the structure that provided shelter for us. For me that residence was/is in the 131st/Miles Rd area. That’s right I grew up near the train tracks, Eagle grocery store, Mr. Hero (my first job), MLK drive, and home to drug dealers, drunks, gang members, etc.

Over the years since leaving for college I return home sparingly. The main reason for sparingly is that I become so involved in the tasks before me. This last visit was extremely tough. It seems the neighborhood I grew up in and is continuing downward in a spiral. Our home has been broken into twice in as many weeks. When we lived there and the house was broken into we felt violated. Now, as Jessica and I have grown up and move away we have settled elsewhere.  That doesn’t mean our hearts aren’t in the city and the home we grew up in. This last visit was surreal, not only had they broken in several times over the years, but now they are getting to the point where they’re destroying things inside the house.

I guess no one is really upset by the break-ins that have occurred because for the most part they just took what they wanted … minus the time they stole the copper pipes in the basement and decided to not turn off the water while doing it. Nope, now they are just being down right destructive. Sure, it is our stuff in the house. Notes from grade school and high school, toys (i have removed the ones I cared about years ago), furniture, clothes, and memories are all that remain now.

I guess it is a good idea I didn’t have the camera with me documenting all the destruction from the latest break in. Jessica, my parents, and my room had things all over the floors and beds flipped. I did manage to take notice of a few things. They evidently have no interests in black and white televisions, books, freezer, fridges, or bibles. So, those that are breaking in do not care to better themselves. Sure I know someone is thinking druggies and under age kids are causing all this damages.  As I said before everyone in the family knows that evidently the folks breaking in needs the stuff more than us. Honestly, that is fine.  Stop trashing the house. I resisted leaving a note for the next time break-in.  If I did it would go a little something like this:

Dear Clutter Reduction Crew,

Since you are here for your next visit, please make sure to clean up after you leave. We would suggest you work on one room per visit. What you don’t like and can’t find a need for, please move it to the street for the trash collectors to take. If you break glass clean it up.  We would ask that since you will no doubt need to come back to go through each room in the house over time… How about leaving a list of what you’re looking for. We would be more than happy to direct you to the location to find things. This is the only time we are going to offer this advice to you and your friends.

Our next course of action will be to allow our children to go on a cleaning spree at which time the house will be emptied into a dumpster. Also, during your next visit, take note to the Bibles throughout the house and the strategically placed Catechism. We understand that you have entered our house looking for something, but we are positive the thing you’re looking for is right in front of your face.  If you need more copies, leave us a note and we can get you more. 🙂

Yours in Christ,

The Ekongs

P.S.  Leaving beer cans and drinks around the house just isn’t smart. Please watch a back episode of CSI and step up your game. Have some pride in your craft.

Needless to say, sometimes you can’t go home again.

h1

New Twitter “Tweet Button” (via WordPress.com News)

August 13, 2010

New Twitter “Tweet Button” For those of you who have been dreaming of an easier way for your readers to share your posts on Twitter, that day has come. We're pleased to announce that we've added an official Tweet Button as an option for all WordPress.com blogs. How it works: When one of your readers hits the Tweet Button, they will be shown a popup that includes a shortened link to your post. Readers can add in a quick message, and then hit "Tweet" to send the post to thei … Read More

via WordPress.com News