h1

Father’s Day 2011

June 19, 2011

As each year goes by I find I have more and more in common with my Father. This past October my Father turned 70 and in January I turned 35. For whatever reason I never really thought about the time span in our ages. It was not until Friday early morning that this popped in my head. Roughly 8 hours after witnessing the birth of my fifth child Jillian. My dad was just about 35 years of age when he welcomed me into the world.

What I have come to find out is that in very interesting way our lives parallel each other. We both grew up with very strong father figures who equipped us with scriptures and a zest for education. We both married “very” strong willed, God fearing women. We both held church leadership offices shortly before heading to seminary. We both enrolled at Concordia Seminary after other employment.

As I look back over the past 35 years, I see more traits of my father and grandfather in me. Two men with whom God has worked through to spread His ministry. Mannerisms, sayings, and demeanor’s are present in both of us. When I look in the mirror these days, I see an updated version of my father. I would guess that is the wish of most sons… To see his father’s life and hope to emulate him. It is my hope that I can continue to be the father to my children that my father was to my sister and I.

I grew up in what most would call “one of the ghettos of Cleveland.” I am a 35 year old, God fearing, husband of one wife, father of five children, never dabbled in drugs, and not only finished high school, but college and half way through grad school. My grandfathers and more importantly my father set the example for the way to live life.

So, today I stare at the statistics with a triumphant smirk. Acknowledging my role model and my blessing from God; My Father. Happy Father’s Day Rev. Hosea J. Ekong

I believe my sister said it best: Some say that your relationship with your earthly father helps to formulate your first image of God… I am thankful to both of my Fathers for always Protecting, Providing and Supporting me.

It is my desire to pass these lessons on to my children…

One comment

  1. Lovely sentiment.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,674 other followers

